Blog Tour | Book Review | The House Party by Mary Grand

The House Party is set on the Isle of Wight – insular, claustrophobic, and with nowhere to run. Mary Grand has written a heart-stopping novel of secrets, betrayal and desire, perfect for fans of Louise Candlish and Lucy Foley.

No comments

Genre: Thriller/Mystery

Publication date: July 21, 2020

Publisher: Boldwood Books

The House Party cover

My Thoughts

The House Party is dark and menacing and all the more sinister because the killer is one of a close group of friends. Someone has put on a very convincing act of being respectable and friendly, but only Kathleen, the victim, knew that he or she was fooling everyone.

The story is narrated by Beth, who is the last person Kathleen spoke to before her death. Beth also feels driven to find out who was threatening Kathleen despite getting a few threats herself. In my opinion, she is foolhardy because she throws herself open to danger by questioning her friends openly and telling them her theories.

We are led through a maelstrom of emotions in the close-knit group–jealousy, deceit, boredom, rebellion, anger, and suspicion. The author has the reader going in circles, even though she rehashes the events as Beth presents her theories to her husband and her friends each time she stumbles upon a new clue.

The final clue, which led to the revelation Beth was looking for, was easy to spot. However, what was mystifying was why Beth did not have her guard up by then.

Nevertheless, Beth teases apart the web of lies bit by bit while dealing with her suddenly secretive husband and openly rebellious teenage daughter. She’s also hiding a secret of her own–something that brought tears to my eyes. Her adorable cocker spaniel, Ollie, provided a light-hearted, positive contrast to the gloomy atmosphere in the novel. Dogs can make anything better!

Masterfully written, The House Party will lead you to examine the dark and dirty secrets between a group of families who are supposedly close and it will shock you to see how wrong you could be about your next-door neighbor!

Thank you to the author and Rachel for my review copy!


Blurb

Someone is about to die… Someone is about to lie…

At the intimate house-warming party for her glorious ‘grand design’, Kathleen confides in her best friend Beth that she is terrified of one of their close friends, but daren’t reveal which one. The guests are a tight-knit group, but Kathleen is convinced one of them is dangerous.

The next day Kathleen’s body is found at the foot of a cliff and Beth must face the sickening truth that she may have been killed by one of their trusted friends. With little help from the police, Beth’s decides to seek answers.

All the friends have secrets they are desperate to hide, but only one of them is ready to kill to keep theirs safe…

The House Party is set on the Isle of Wight – insular, claustrophobic, and with nowhere to run. Mary Grand has written a heart-stopping novel of secretsbetrayal and desire, perfect for fans of Louise Candlish and Lucy Foley.

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/35kKciQ


About Mary Grand

Mary Grand photo

Mary Grand is the author of five novels and writes gripping, page-turning suspense, with a dark and often murderous underside. She grew up in Wales, was for many years a teacher of deaf children and now lives on the Isle of Wight where her new novel,

The House Party, which will be published by Boldwood in July 2020, is set.

Social Media Links –

Twitter Profile:   https://twitter.com/authormaryg

Facebook Profile: https://www.facebook.com/authormarygrand/

Instagram Profile: https://www.instagram.com/maryandpepper/?hl=en

Bookbub Profile: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/mary-grand?list=about

Blog / website URL:   https://marygrand.net/


Blog Tour Stops

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.