Blog Tour | Book Review | Summer in the City Emma Jackson

A heartwarming summer romance perfect for fans of Heidi Swain, Sarah Morgan and Holly Martin.

No comments

Thank you to the author and Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on the tour!

Summer in the City cover

My Thoughts

Rating: 5 out of 5.

I didn’t realize I would enjoy this book so much that I would finish it in a single sitting!

The story is captivating right from the opening scene at Central Park until the end where a letter is written, declaring the lead pair idiots and listing ways to “de-idiotize.”

The author writes so beautifully and naturally that I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.

I understood from various references to a certain Christmas that this is a sequel to A Mistletoe Miracle, where Stephen tries to separate Nick and Beth and Noelle tricks Stephen and prevents the separation.

However, it didn’t bother me that I didn’t know the backstory fully. I’m just tempted to snatch up the first book and read it right now.

Noelle and Stephen are characters with human frailties that I can identify with.

Noelle’s large family loves her, but keeps ribbing her about her failure at dating and doesn’t understand her career as a writer of cosy mysteries. She’s also suffering from writer’s block with a deadline only three weeks away.

Stephen has a fear of heights and is struggling to come to grips with the hurt his father caused him when he walked out on him and his mother when he was three years old. He has a reputation for being a ladies’ man.

Together, they work through their insecurities, mistaken assumptions, and break down the walls they have built to protect themselves from further hurt.

It was a refreshingly different romance based in New York City with a missing persons hunt thrown in!


Book Details

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Publication date: June 8, 2020

Publisher: Orion Dash

Pages: 250

Trigger warnings: Grief, Family Estrangement

The heartwarming new holiday read from the bestselling author of A Mistletoe Miracle

Sometimes the one thing you’re looking for is right in front of you…

Stephen is on a very personal mission to find his father as per the wishes in their mother’s will. But he has no idea where to start, not that he’s going to tell anyone that… When Noelle, native New Yorker, daughter of a detective and desperate for a distraction from the novel she’s been struggling to write, offers to help, it feels like the perfect solution.

Except the last time she spoke to Stephen he thought they’d be seeing the New Year in together and instead she stood him up and sold him out! Stephen’s big enough and been around the block enough times to understand that all is fair in love and war, isn’t he? But when Stephen accepts her offer and they begin their search across the city, it soon becomes clear that the weather isn’t the only thing that’s heating up.

A heartwarming summer romance perfect for fans of Heidi Swain, Sarah Morgan and Holly Martin.


Purchase Link

http://bit.ly/SummerITC

About Emma Jackson

Emma Jackson author

Author of the Best Selling A MISTLETOE MIRACLE, published in 2019 by Orion Dash, Emma has been a devoted bookworm and secret-story-scribbler since she was 6 years old. When she’s not running around after her two daughters and trying to complete her current work-in-progress, Emma loves to read, bake, catch up on binge-watching TV programmes with her partner and plan lots of craft projects that will inevitably end up unfinished. Her next romantic comedy, SUMMER IN THE CITY, is due for release in June 2020.

Emma also writes historical and speculative romantic fiction as Emma S Jackson. THE DEVIL’S BRIDE will be published by DarkStroke in February 2020.

Social Media Links –

Twitter: @ESJackson1

Instagram: @emma_s_jackson

Facebook @EmmaJacksonAuthor


Blog Tour Schedule


Please share!

Have you read the first book in this series A Mistletoe Miracle? What did you think?

What is your opinion of a writing career? Do you agree that people misunderstand writers’ need for space and privacy?

If you’ve read this book, what do you think of the way family estrangement is handled in the story? Should the father have been more welcoming towards the son?

If you liked this review, please share it!

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.